Periscope Now Saves your Scopes Forever


image.jpg

Yesterday I noticed a welcomed change to Periscope, your video streams are now automatically saved so they are available for viewers to watch again and again. Before this update, users' scopes were deleted after 24-hours. There was (and continues to be) the option to save your broadcasted videos to your phone, which could then of course be uploaded to YouTube or Vimeo, however, this posed a problem if phone storage space is low. 

With the recent and sudden departure of the handy site Katch, an automated service that saved your broadcasts and also tweeted about them and even allowed you to download, share or embed the videos down the line, this new option directly within Periscope will be welcomed by many. 

Go to setting to make changes to your video preferences

Go to setting to make changes to your video preferences

 

Reasons NOT to save your videos! 

1- One great aspect of the short 24-hour viewing window was the sense of urgency created, which often encourages viewers to either jump into broadcasts while they are live or make a real effort to watch them before they are removed forever.  

Consider keeping special broadcasts or promotional/ interactive scopes set to the 24-hour removal set up to create a buzz. 

2- Monitor your engagement and views after you make the switch. If you find fewer people are showing up to your broadcasts or catching replays, perhaps you should return to the old model.

3- As with everything you put out into the world take time every now and then to step and reassess. Does all the content you have available still represent you and your current goals? If the answer is no, go back and clean up your account so you have only your very best content on show. 

Happy Scoping! Be sure to catch me on Periscope under @natwillsdesign 😀